2019 Sunstone Fiction Contest

The Sunstone Education Foundation invites writers to enter its annual fiction contest, made possible by a generous grant from an anonymous donor. All entries must relate to adult Latter-day Saint experience, theology, or worldview. All varieties of form are welcome.


1. Up to three entries may be submitted by any one author. Send manuscript in PDF or Word format to sunstone.editor[at]gmail[dot]com by 30 April 2019.

2. Each story must be double-spaced. The author’s name must not appear on any page of the manuscript. Word limit is 5000.

3. In the body of the email, the author must state the story’s title and the author’s name, address, telephone number, and email. The author must also include language attesting that the entry is her or his own work, that it has not been previously published, that it is not being considered for publication elsewhere, and that it will not be submitted to other publishers until after the contest. The author must also grant permission for the manuscript to be filed in the Sunstone Collection at the Marriott Library of the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. If the entry wins, Sunstone Magazine retains first-publication rights though publication is not guaranteed. The author retains all literary rights. Sunstone discourages the use of pseudonyms; if used, the author must identify the real and pen names and the reasons for writing under the pseudonym.

Stories, without author identification, will be judged by noted Mormon authors and professors of literature. Winners will be announced by 21 June 2019 on Sunstone’s website, www.sunstone.org, and its social media outlets. Winners only will be notified by email. After the announcement, all other entrants will be free to submit their stories elsewhere.

Past winners include:

The Dead Are All Around Us, by Luisa Perkins

The Runners, by Steven Peck

Davinho, by Ryan McIlvain

The Blood of Thy Son, by Larry Menlove