The 1950 Priesthood Split And Fundamentalist Mormons Today

The two largest fundamentalist Mormon communities today are the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (FLDS) and the Apostolic United Brethren (AUB). They were one group until the death of their leader, John Y. Barlow, in 1949. What issues and actions caused their split? How have these events affected the two groups’ distinctly different personalities?

Ken Driggs